• DRIVE Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Tickets on Sale - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
BTCC Qualifying: Proctor claims final pole of 2021 at Brands Hatch

Saturday, October 23 2021

Senna Proctor claimed the second pole position of his Kwik Fit British Touring Championship career at Brands Hatch this afternoon, lapping the Grand Prix circuit in 1m30.237s to set a new qualifying lap record.

Proctor topped a Honda dominated session, in which the Japanese manufacturer's Civic Type Rs locked out the top four positions. In claiming pole position, Proctor denied any of the five overall title contenders an opportunity to secure a bonus point, including his own BTC Racing teammate Josh Cook.

Cook will line up second after lapping the Kent circuit's famous longer layout just 0.011s shy of the sister car. Cook now needs to score all 66 of the available points on offer tomorrow to have any chance of winning the championship, though he remains in mathematical outside contention.

Daniel Rowbottom and Gordon Shedden, who led the way in this morning's first and second practice sessions respectively will start third and fourth to complete the Honda group at the front, whilst Daniel Lloyd's Vauxhall Astra makes up the top-five.

Despite carrying maximum success ballast, Ashley Sutton managed to outqualify his remainng title rivals in his Laser Tools Racing Infiniti Q50. The reigning champion will have teammate Aiden Moffat just behind him too, acting as a buffer ahead of eighth placed Colin Turkington, who heads into tomorrow second in the standings.

Stephen Jelley and Tom Chilton complete the top-10 following the 30-minute qualifying period. Of the other title challengers, Jake Hill and Tom Ingram will start tomorrow's first BTCC race 13th and 15th respectively. 

Tomorrow's first race is due to start at 11:30 ahead of the penultimate race of the season at 14:30 and season finale at 17:15. 

Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship, Brands Hatch GP, Qualifying

1. Senna Proctor
2. Josh Cook
3. Daniel Rowbottom
4. Gordon Shedden
5. Daniel Lloyd
6. Ashley Sutton
7. Aiden Moffat
8. Colin Turkington
9. Stephen Jelley
10. Tom Chilton

For full timings, please click here.