• Legends of Brands Hatch Superprix
  • Drive!
  • MSV Trackdays
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
Brands Hatch set for British GT opener in front of fans

Friday, May 14 2021

The Intelligent Money British GT Championship blasts to life for 2021 on the full Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit next weekend, kicking off its nine-round campaign with a two-hour endurance epic on Sunday 23 May. Best of all, the event will take place in front of a live audience as spectators return to the venue for the first time this year.

Tickets for the main raceday are £22 in advance with discounted admission for 13-15-year-olds and free entry for under-13s. For more information, please call 0843 453 9000 or click here.

The flagship GT3 class will feature no fewer than 14 cars in Kent, including a pair of Lamborghini Huracans from reigning Teams' and Drivers' champions Barwell Motorsport. Sandy Mitchell is aiming to become the second driver in series history to retain a title alongside new co-driver Adam Balon, whilst Leo Machitski and Dennis Lind are British GT returnees in the second car.

Other GT3 pairings to look out for will include Beechdean AMR's Jonny Adam and Andrew Howard, one of the championship's most successful combinations, who reunite for their first full-time season together since 2015. Another of the championship's most prolific drivers, Phil Keen, switches to WPI Motorsport for this year, as his quest for a maiden title continues alongside new driving partner Michael Igoe.

Strictly Come Dancing star Kelvin Fletcher and long-time co-driver Martin Plowman will make their much anticipated switch to GT3 machinery this year, pairing up in a JRM Racing Bentley after sitting 2020 out.

Reigning Pro-Am champions Ian Loggie and Yelmer Buurman reunite behind the wheel of a RAM Racing Mercedes-AMG, whilst Nick Jones and Scott Malvern are another duo who will continue together into the new season, driving a Team Parker Racing Porsche.

There are some new full-time teams to the GT3 class this season too. Enduro Motorsport will run a car for Marcus Clutton and Morgan Tillbrook, whilst Ross Wylie and Lucky Khera are to race with Simon Green Motorsport.

A brace of 'dad and lad' duos will appear on the grid as well. Team Abba Racing's Richard and Sam Neary are back, whilst Lewis and Stewart Proctor will drive with Balfe Motorsport.

RAM Racing's second Mercedes-AMG, will be raced by Sam De Haan and debutant James Cottingham at Brands Hatch, whilst Ultimate Speed's Michael Brown and Matt Manderson add to a strong Silver-Am class. The final entry in the GT3 class will be driven by the sole Am/Am line-up of Greg Caton and Shamus Jennings.

12 GT4 cars will contest the opening round, including three Team Rocket RJN McLarens, with a line-up including members of the McLaren Driver Development Programme. Michael Benyahia, Harry Hayek, Katie Milner, Alain Valente, Jordan Collard and James Kell will be behind the wheel.

The only other team running multiple GT4 entries is Century Motorpsport, which will run two BMW M4s for Will Burns, Gus Burton, Chris Salkeld and Andrew Gordon-Colebrooke.

Others to look out for in GT4 will include Academy Motorsport's Matt Cowley and Will Moore and championship debutants Assetto Motorsport, with a new Ginetta G56 driven by factory ace Charlie Robertson and Mark Sansom. Toyota Gazoo Racing UK, run by Speedworks, will enter a Supra for Ginetta graduate Scott McKenna and John Ferguson.

No driver has won two British GT4 titles outright. But that statistic will change if either Jake Giddings or Jamie Stanley claim the crown this year. The former - who won the championship in 2014 - partners Dave Whitmore at Ciceley who return with Mercedes-AMG for their first-ever full-season assault. Stanley, meanwhile, is joined at Fox Motorsport by former Ginetta GT4 Supercup Am front-runner Nick Halstead.

The grid will be completed by Jack Brown and Ashley Marshall at Balfe Motorsport, plus Richard Williams and Sennan Fielding at Steller Motorsport.

British GT Brands Hatch entry list

Barwell Motorsport
, #1, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, Adam Balon, Sandy Mitchell, GT3, Pro/Am
Balfe Motorsport, #5, McLaren 720S GT3, Stewart Proctor, Lewis Proctor, GT3, Silver/Am
RAM Racing, #6, Mercedes-AMG GT3, Ian Loggie, Yelmer Buurman, GT3, Pro/Am
Beechdean AMR, #7, Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3, Andrew Howard, Jonny Adam, GT3, Pro/Am
Team Abba Racing, #8, Mercedes-AMG GT3, Richard Neary, Sam Neary, GT3, Silver/Am
JRM Racing, #11, Bentley Continental GT3, Kelvin Fletcher, Martin Plowman GT3 Pro/Am
WPI Motorsport, #18, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, Michael Igoe, Phil Keen, GT3, Pro/Am
Simon Green Motorsport, #24, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, Lucky Khera, Ross Wylie GT3 Silver/Am
Ultimate Speed, #26, Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3, Michael Brown, Matt Manderson, GT3, Silver/Am
G-Cat Racing, #33, Porsche 911 GT3 R, Shamus Jennings, Greg Caton, GT3 Am/Am
Barwell Motorsport, #63, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, Leo Machitski, Dennis Lind, GT3 Pro/Am
Team Parker Racing, #66, Porsche 911 GT3 R, Nick Jones, Scott Malvern, GT3, Pro/Am
RAM Racing, #69, Mercedes-AMG GT3, James Cottingham, Sam De Haan, GT3, Silver/Am
Enduro Motorsport, #77, McLaren 720S GT3, Morgan Tillbrook, Marcus Clutton, GT3, Pro/Am

Team Rocket RJN, #2, McLaren 570S GT4, James Kell, Jordan Collard, GT4, Silver
Team Rocket RJN, #3, McLaren 570S GT4, Alain Valente, Michael Benyahia, GT4, Silver
Team Rocket RJN, #4, McLaren 570S GT4, Harry Hayek, Katie Milner, GT4, Silver
Century Motorsport, #9, BMW M4 GT4, Chris Salkeld*, Andrew Gordon-Colebrooke, GT4 Pro/Am
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK, #15, Toyota GR Supra GT4, John Ferguson, Scott McKenna, GT4, Pro/Am
Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport, #25, Mercedes-AMG GT4, Dave Whitmore, Jake Giddings, GT4, Pro/Am
Fox Motorsport, #40, McLaren 570S GT4, Nick Halstead, Jamie Stanley, GT4, Pro/Am
Steller Motorsport, #42, Audi R8 LMS GT4, Richard Williams, Sennan Fielding, GT4, Silver
Assetto Motorsport, #56, Ginetta G56, Mark Sansom, Charlie Robertson, GT4, Pro/Am
Century Motorsport, #57, BMW M4 GT4, Will Burns, Gus Burton, GT4, Silver
Academy Motorsport, #61, Ford Mustang GT4, Will Moore, Matt Cowley, GT4, Silver
Balfe Motorsport, #90, McLaren 570S GT4, Jack Brown, Ashley Marshall, GT4, Silver

Adult race day tickets are £22 in advance with discounts for 13-15-year-olds and free entry for under-13s. For more information and to book now, please call 0843 453 9000 or CLICK HERE.


You can book tickets safe in the knowledge that if government restrictions prevent us being able to admit spectators, you will be entitled to a credit or full refund.

Click here to download a summary of the measures we'll have in place to keep everyone safe.