• DRIVE Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Tickets on Sale - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB FP1: Hickman leads first session at Brands Hatch

Friday, October 15 2021

Peter Hickman set the pace for the FHO Racing BMW team in the opening Bennetts British Superbike Championship SUPERPICKS Free Practice session at Brands Hatch, as the final Showdown gets underway on the Grand Prix circuit.

Hickman had set the early benchmark and continued to improve his pace, setting his fastest lap of the session on his penultimate lap before the chequered flag which gave him a 0.063s advantage at the top.

As Hickman held onto the leading position, double Donington Park winner Gino Rea surged up the order into second place for the Buildbase Suzuki team, pushing Danny Buchan on the SYNETIQ BMW back into third in the final minutes of the session.

Tommy Bridewell was the fastest of the leading four contenders in the title fight this weekend; the Oxford Products Racing Ducati rider was 0.146s ahead of Josh Brookes on the leading VisionTrack Ducati. His teammate and title contender Christian Iddon dropped to just outside the top ten in eleventh place and 0.735s adrift of Hickman's pacesetting time.

Bradley Ray was sixth fastest fresh from his announcement of re-signing with the Rich Energy OMG Racing team for next season, with championship leader Tarran Mackenzie the fastest of the McAMS Yamahas in seventh place.

Glenn Irwin and Lee Jackson split the McAMS Yamaha riders in eighth and ninth respectively as Jason O'Halloran completed the top ten ahead of this afternoon's second SUPERPICKS Free Practice session, which cumulatively decides the top 12 riders who progress directly into tomorrow's Q2 session.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, SUPERPICKS Free Practice 1:

1.     Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) 1m:25.841s
2.     Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.063s
3.     Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +0.127s
4.     Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.256s
5.     Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.402s
6.     Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +0.468s
7.     Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.477s
8.     Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) +0.535s
9.     Lee Jackson (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.568s
10.  Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +0.654s

For the full session result please click  here