• Give Christmas the Green Light - Brands Hatch
  • DRIVE Brands Hatch
  • Christmas Parties at Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Tickets on Sale - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB FP2: O'Halloran tops the combined Brands Hatch times

Friday, October 15 2021

Jason O'Halloran began his fightback for the Bennetts British Superbike Championship crown at Brands Hatch today, topping the SUPERPICKS combined free practice times for McAMS Yamaha as he bids to overhaul the ten-point deficit in the standings to teammate Tarran Mackenzie.

O'Halloran's best lap came in his final run of the day on the Grand Prix circuit, toppling the VisionTrack Ducati pairing from the top of the times in the final three minutes of the session.

Christian Iddon holds third in the standings heading into tomorrow's opening race of the title-deciding weekend, 15 points adrift of Mackenzie and he was second fastest at the end of the opening day's action, edging out his teammate Josh Brookes by 0.033s.

Lee Jackson fired the FS-3 Kawasaki into fourth place in the final moments of the session, narrowly moving ahead of Peter Hickman on the FHO Racing BMW as four manufacturers completed the top five positions.

Championship leader Tarran Mackenzie ended the day sixth fastest, 0.256s adrift of his McAMS Yamaha teammate, as 0.516s covered the top 14 riders ahead of tomorrow's SUPERPICKS Qualifying session and opening BikeSocial race.

Danny Buchan held off Gino Rea for seventh place with Bradley Ray and Glenn Irwin completing the top ten, nudging Tommy Bridewell out of the top ten by 0.038s.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, SUPERPICKS combined result:

1.      Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1m:25.229s
2.      Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.103s
3.      Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.136s
4.      Lee Jackson (FS-3 Kawasaki) +0.236s
5.      Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +0.246s
6.      Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.256s
7.      Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +0.266s
8.      Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.337s
9.      Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +0.345s
10.   Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) +0.353s

For the full session result please click  here