• Jobs at Brands Hatch
  • Truck Racing - Brands Hatch
  • SpeedFest 9 - Brands Hatch
  • Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Legends of Brands Hatch Superprix
  • MSV Trackdays
Vervisch and Leonard win Blancpain GT race two at Brands

Sunday, May 06 2018

Frederic Vervisch and Stuart Leonard won the second Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup race of the day at Brands Hatch this afternoon (Sunday), completing a successful day for Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, following Dries Vanthoor and Will Stevens' earlier victory.

Vervisch took the lead from the off in the Audi R8, from the similar machines of Christopher Mies and Kelvin van der Linde, whilst front-row starter Raffaele Marciello was shuffled back down to fourth position in his Mercedes-AMG.

Multiple incidents on the first lap forced the safety car to be deployed. The first saw the GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan of Andrea Caldarelli beached in the Druids gravel trap. The second, at the exit of the same corner, claimed both of Team Parker Racing's Bentley Continentals, as well as the SMP Racing by AKKA ASP Mercedes-AMG, which also brought out the safety car in race one.

Vervisch continued to lead from Mies and van der Linde when the race resumed, and although the top-three were able to circulate closely, there were no major moves. Mies able to remain right behind Vervisch until he pulled into the pit-lane, the first of the leading bunch to do so.

Vervisch remained out on track for a handful of laps more, before handing over to Leonard, who emerged from the pit-lane right in front of Alex Riberas, who had taken over from Mies.

Overall, the top-five remained in same order once the pit window was complete with Leonard leading from Riberas, ahead of Steijn Schothorst, who took over from van der Linde, and Michael Meadows, who shares with Marciello, with Christian Engelhart in fifth in the Lamborghini he co-pilots with Mirko Bortolotti.

Despite running closely together, there were no changes in position between the lead group until the chequered flag.


1, Leonard/Vervisch, Belgian Audi Club WRT, Audi R8, 39 laps
2, Riberas/Mies, Belgian Audi Club WRT, Audi R8, +0.586s
3, Schothorst/van der Linde, Attempto Racing, Audi R8, +1.280s
4, Meadows/Marciello, AKKA ASP Team, Mercedes-AMG, +12.646s
5, Engelhart/Bortolotti, GRT Grasser Racing Team, Lamborghini Huracan, +12.882s
6, Jamin/Serralles, AKKA ASP Team, Mercedes-AMG, +14.739s
7, Hezemans/Perera, GRT Grasser Racing Team, Lamborghini Huracan, +35.731s
8, Bastian/Manchester, AKKA ASP Team, Mercedes-AMG, +35.853s
9, Gachet/Haase, Sainteloc Racing, Audi R8, +37.386s
10, Siedler/Ortelli, Emil Frey Racing, Lexus RC F, +38.117s