• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
Dominant British F3 victory for Sowery in race two

Sunday, April 17 2016

Toby Sowery made a storming start to jump from sixth to first on the opening lap and drive away into the distance to take race two victory at Brands Hatch. Fortec Motorsports Tarun Reddy was also a beneficiary from a first lap tangle between a number of front-runners to take second, with Enzo Bortoleto defending well to finish third.

Brands Hatch basked in glorious Sunday morning sunshine as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship in association with Duo field lined up for race two of the weekend on the Grand Prix circuit. Owing to his eighth place finish in Saturday's first race, Double R's Enzo Bortoleto lined up on pole position with HHC Motorsport's Raoul Hyman for company on the front-row.

As the lights went out to start the 14-lap race, Bortoleto made a good getaway and led into Paddock Hill with Thomas Randle making a lightning getaway from fifth, but he was unable to make up any positions as his route through the field was blocked. Toby Sowery took advantage of an issue for Raoul Hyman and shot around the outside of a number of drivers at the first corner and found himself in second running up to Druids. Ricky Collard followed Sowery and moved up to fourth from his seventh place grid spot. Further back, contact was made between Colton Herta and race one winner Matheus Leist at Druids, with the Double R man spinning and eventually retiring from the race.

As the field headed on to the Grand Prix loop, Sowery closed on leader Bortoleto and a brave move down the inside on the run to Sheene secured him the lead. The Lanan Racing driver was soon streaking away into the distance as he led the field across the line at the end of lap one. Indian driver Reddy was in no mood to hang around and he was soon up to second, overtaking Bortoleto and putting him in the clutches of Collard behind.

Further back, Chris Dittmann Racing's Jeremy Wahome went off at Sheene and retired from the race whilst up front, Al Faisal Al Zubair lost out to both Randle and Ngebulana, dropping down to seventh from fifth. A string of fastest laps helped Sowery ease away from Reddy, whilst the Indian in turn managed to build a comfortable advantage over Bortoleto and the chasing pack as the half-way stage approached.

The order up front remained the same as the race approached its final moments but both Collard and Randle looked racy as they attempted to claim the podium spot. Bortoleto defended well however and despite Randle showing his nose to Collard into Paddock on a number of occasions, he had to settle for fifth.

As the chequered flag came out, Sowery crossed the line 9.413s clear of Reddy with Bortoleto a further 3.572s back in third. Collard held fourth with Randle fifth as Ngebulana took seventh, ahead of Al Zubair in seventh. The top-10 was rounded out by Sean Walkinshaw Racing's Thomas Maxwell and Eugene Denyssen, and Chris Dittmann Racing's Quinlan Lall.

By virtue of claiming the fastest lap across the first two races, Carlin's Colton Herta will line up on pole position for race three, with Enaam Ahmed joining him on the front-row.

BRDC British F3 - Brands Hatch Grand Prix - Race Two 

1. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, 14 Laps
2. Tarun Reddy, Fortec Motorsports, +9.413s
3. Enzo Bortoleto, Double R Racing, +12.985s
4. Ricky Collard, Carlin, +13.169s
5. Thomas Randle, Douglas Motorsport, +13.328s
6. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, +13.981s
7. Al Faisal Al Zubair, Fortec Motorsports, +14.856s
8. Thomas Maxwell, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +15.469s
9. Eugene Denyssen, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +16.537s
10. Quinlan Lall, Chris Dittmann Racing, +17.288s
11. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Chris Dittmann Racing, +18.358s
12. Jan Jonck, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +19.160s
13. Aleksanteri Huovinen, Double R Racing, +19.842s
14. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Carlin, +21.170s
15. Akhil Rabindra, Lanan Racing, +21.877s
16. Ben Hingeley, HHC Motorsport, +22.787s
17. Enaam Ahmed, Douglas Motorsport, +25.390s
NC. Colton Herta, Carlin, 8 Laps
DNF. Jeremy Wahome, Chris Dittmann Racing, 11 Laps
DNF. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, 0 Laps
DNF. Matheus Leist, Double R Racing, 0 Laps