• SpeedFest 7 - Brands Hatch
  • Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Caterham CDX Drift Experience
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Ellison sets fastest lap of Brands Hatch Indy to top free practice one

Saturday, April 15 2017

James Ellison and the McAMS Yamaha team got the second day at Brands Hatch off to flying start by topping the times in the opening MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship free practice session; setting the fastest ever lap of the 1.2-mile circuit in Kent.

Another incredibly close session on the Indy circuit meant that the top 16 riders were covered by 0.891s with four manufacturers featuring inside this morning's top five.

Ellison had left it late in the session to hit the top spot; again Luke Mossey getting pushed back in the closing stages; this time the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider holding second place with just 0.068s separating the top two.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne, the fastest rider from yesterday's official test, held third position just ahead of his Be Wiser Ducati team-mate Glenn Irwin and an improving Sylvain Guintoli in fifth place.

Leon Haslam claimed sixth position ahead of John Hopkins who made it all three Ducatis inside the top ten for the Moto Rapido team with Jakub Smrz having his strongest session so far in eighth place.

Jason O'Halloran and Jake Dixon completed a top ten featuring all six manufacturers ahead of this afternoon's second session.

Davide Giugliano crashed out during the session at Graham Hill Bend; the Tyco BMW rider will be reviewed before the third free practice session tomorrow but will sit this afternoon's session out. Tommy Bridewell and Bradley Ray also crashed out during the opening practice, but will be back in action this afternoon.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, Free Practice one:

  1. James Ellison (McAMS Yamaha) 45.097s
  2. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.068s
  3. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.225s
  4. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.417s
  5. Sylvain Guintoli (Bennetts Suzuki) +0.448s
  6. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.545s
  7. John Hopkins (Moto Rapido Ducati) +0.572s
  8. Jakub Smrz (Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW) +0.585s
  9. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.684s
  10. Jake Dixon (RAF Reserves Kawasaki) +0.761s