• Festival Italia - Brands Hatch
  • Masters Historic Festival - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
Ellison leads the way in MCE BSB warm up at Brands Hatch

Sunday, April 19 2015

James Ellison maintained his position at the top of the timesheets in this morning's MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship warm up session on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit. The frantic 15 minute warm up featured five different manufacturers inside the top ten in a close session as the top 23 riders were covered by just 0.934s!

Ellison had held his position at the top for the JG Speedfit Kawasaki team as the pole-sitter for race one bids to add to his Donington Park race win later today, but behind his rivals were frantically shuffling positions throughout the session.

Josh Brookes on the Milwaukee Yamaha moved second in the closing minutes as he leaped above Ryuichi Kiyonari and Jakub Smrz - the pair who will complete the front row for the opening race of the day.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and the PBM Kawasaki team continued to hold fifth position as they bid to close the deficit ahead of the opening race this afternoon, narrowly ahead of the leading Tyco BMW of Tommy Bridewell.

Bridewell had pushed the second PBM Kawasaki of Stuart Easton back to seventh place at the chequered flag, but Jason O'Halloran on the Honda Racing Fireblade continued to fight his way into the top ten to hold eighth position. Robbin Harms on the Motodex BMW and Peter Hickman on the RAF Reserves BMW completed the top ten.

Be Wiser Kawasaki's Danny Buchan narrowly missed out on the top ten in eleventh place as he prepares to bounce back from his crash yesterday. The 21-year-old pushing ahead of reigning Motorpoint British Supersport champion Billy McConnell on the Smiths Racing BMW.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, warm up result:

  1. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 45.529s
  2. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.164s
  3. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.178s
  4. Jakub Smrz (Lloyds British Ducati) +0.180s
  5. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.277s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) +0.563s
  7. Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) +0.597s
  8. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.625s
  9. Robbin Harms (Motodex Performance BMW) +0.645s
  10. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves BMW) +0.705s

For more information please click here.