• Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Fonseca claims pole in soaking Brands Hatch F4 qualifying

Sunday, November 23 2014

Douglas Motorsport's Rodrigo Fonseca followed up his first F4 win yesterday with his first F4 pole position in a soaking wet qualifying session at Brands Hatch this morning (Sunday).

Connor Jupp posted the second fastest time despite only completing seven laps after an off at Paddock Hill Bend, while a late effort from Enzo Bortoleto put him a series-best third fastest. Bortoleto though will start second as Jupp carries over a three place grid penalty for the race after yesterday's incident with Gaetano di Mauro.

Championship leader Will Palmer was fourth fastest ahead of his nearest championship rival Gaetano di Mauro, with Fernando Urrutia sixth.

Paul Sieljes set the seventh quickest time for Chris Dittmann Racing ahead of Jordan Albert and Zubair Hoque.

Fonseca figured at the front throughout, although Jupp did hold top spot on two separate occasions. But Jupp's challenge ended after eight minutes when he slid into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend, ending his session early. Fonseca had just beaten Jupp's time when the British driver went off, the Mexican's time proving unbeatable when the session resumed, with rain continuing to fall.

Fonseca commented: "I feel like I'm getting used to the rain now! It's been a long year and I really feel like I've got it sorted now. 

"The conditions were really difficult and they got much worse towards the end. I managed to set a good time at the beginning and I think we have the pace to win again today. We're getting closer in the championship, if I can win both the remaining races we could have a chance of winning it still!"

The third F4 race of the weekend starts at 12 midday.

BRDC F4 Winter Championship, Brands Hatch Second Qualifying result:

1. Rodrigo Fonseca, Douglas Motorsport, 56.934s
2. Connor Jupp, Mectech Motorsport, +0.223s
3. Enzo Bortoleto, PetroBall Racing, +0.418s
4. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +0.478s
5. Gaetano di Mauro, PetroBall Racing, +0.635s
6. Fernando Urrutia, SWR - Caterham F1, +0.794s
7. Paul Sieljes, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.894s
8. Jordan Albert, SWR - Caterham F1, +1.165s
9. Zubair Hoque, HHC Motorsport, +1.453s