• Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Jupp takes maiden pole in tight Brands qualifying

Saturday, November 22 2014

Connor Jupp soared to both his and the Mectech's team in a rain-affected qualifying at Brands Hatch this morning (Saturday).

Following yesterday's trend, the times were very close, with Jupp's pole time being just 0.010s quicker than Gaetano di Mauro. Jordan Albert was third quickest, 0.121s off Jupp, with Rodrigo Fonseca fourth and championship leader Will Palmer fifth.

Fernando Urrutia, Zubair Hoque, Enzo Bortoleto and newcomer Paul Sieljes completed the order.

Di Mauro looked set to have taken pole, as he aims to close down the gap to Will Palmer in the championship standings, and held top spot for most of the opening part of the session, with Palmer, Fonseca and Jupp also taking turns at the top.

But with conditions deteriorating due to rain, Jupp's time mid-session came at the ideal time to give him his first single seater pole position.

The first race of the weekend starts at 12 midday.

Jupp commented: "That feels great. The Mectech guys have done a really good job - we still haven't done much wet running up until now and it's also my first time in our new car so we've had Thursday and Friday to try and get used to it.

"It poured down in qualifying, but everything went our way. As soon as we went out the pits it started spitting with rain so I knew I needed to get a good lap time in early so I pushed for the first six laps got the time, and as if an act of god, I posted my fastest lap and it started raining really hard. It's great luck for us, maybe not for the others, but I'm not going to argue with it!

"I hope to get a good start and if I can get around the first corner in the lead and keep out of trouble we should be in a good position. It's a short lap with not many overtaking opportunities so hopefully that will work in our favour."

BRDC F4 Winter Championship, Brands Hatch Indy, Qualifying one result:

1. Connor Jupp, Mectech Motorsport, 55.364s
2. Gaetano di Mauro, PetroBall Racing, +0.010s
3. Jordan Albert, SWR - Caterham F1, +0.121s
4. Rodrigo Fonseca, Douglas Motorsport, +0.151s
5. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +0.267s
6. Fernando Urrutia, SWR - Caterham F1, +0.654s
7. Zubair Hoque, HHC Motorsport, +0.787s
8. Enzo Bortoleto, PetroBall Racing, +1.266s
9. Paul Sieljes, Chris Dittmann Racing, +2.112s