• Bennetts British Superbikes - Brands Hatch
  • British GT-F3 - Brands Hatch
  • DTM - Brands Hatch
  • Festival Italia - Brands Hatch
  • Mini Festival - Brands Hatch
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Boucenna doubles up with Elite 2 win

Sunday, June 08 2014

Frenchman Wilfried Boucenna completed a perfect weekend by claiming his second Brands Hatch win in the Elite 2 race of the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series at American SpeedFest II.

Thomas Ferrando and Maxime Dumarey joined him on the podium, Thieo Arroyo claimed fourth with Phillip Lietz fifth and Hugo Bec sixth.

The lead was Boucenna's on lap six at Graham Hill Bend, squeezing through on the inside of Luca Pirri. He instantly set the fastest lap of the race to build his cushion, and continued to stretch his lead to the flag. Second placed-finisher Ferrando stole the honour of the fastest lap of the race on the penultimate lap to take a chunk out of Boucenna's lead but it was too little too late for the Frenchman.

The star of the race was Marsilio Canuti, starting last and ripping through the field to as high as second. As the quartet of cars he led fought over the second spot on the podium, Canuti spun a backmarker into the gravel, incurring a drive through penalty that dropped him down the order after the race to 14th place.

Denis Dupont had earlier flown off into the top of the Paddock Hill gravel from third place and Pirri slipped down the order and out of contention in the closing stages.

The lone British representative Bradley Smith impressed after a tough start as Frederic Greiling spun in front of  before he's even crossed the startline. That dropped the Essex racer back as the stock cars rumbled past him, but he produced an impressive recovery drive to eighth despite lacking in straightline speed. The highlight of his charge was a daring move around the outside of Francesca Linossi.

NASCAR Whelen Euro Series Elite 2 race 2 top 10

  1. Wilfried Boucenna - 26 laps
  2. Thomas Ferrando - +2.015s
  3. Maxime Dumarey - +7.605s
  4. Salvador Tineo Arroyo - +8.337s
  5. Phillip Lietz - +8.663s
  6. Hugo Bec - +19.149s
  7. Gianmarco Ercoli - +21.492
  8. Bradley Smith - +26.844s
  9. Francesca Linossi - +30.049s
  10. Simone Laureti - +30.728s

View the full result