• Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Lowes strikes early at Brands Hatch

Friday, July 19 2013

Anticipation is building at Brands Hatch ahead of this weekend's MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship round as Alex Lowes topped the official test on the Indy circuit this afternoon as the riders prepare to be let loose on the Grand Prix circuit for the remainder of the weekend.

James Ellison had been the fastest rider on track in the early stages but there was a fraught time at the top with positions changing between the Milwaukee Yamaha, home hero Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Ryuichi Kiyonari. Lowes was building up throughout the session though and he went fastest with just over ten minutes remaining as he gave himself an extra boost ahead of practice, qualifying and the two races on Sunday.

Lowes said: "I felt like today has been good because we have been able to work on the first part of the track and make some improvements but we still know there is more to do. I am looking forward to getting out on the GP circuit tomorrow and seeing if we can stay ahead of Shakey."

Ellison was forced to settle for second with Ryuichi Kiyonari in third on the second Samsung Honda as he returned to Brands Hatch from a recent test in Suzuka, narrowly ahead of Byrne on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki.

Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes was fifth fastest as the Tyco Suzuki rider held a consistent position throughout the session, but he was closed in the final stages by Jakub Smrz who leapt to sixth on the Padgetts Honda.

Lloyds British GBmoto Honda had a mixed session with Dan Linfoot ending seventh fastest but Peter Hickman crashing out unhurt at Paddock Hill Bend at the halfway point. The Buildbase BMW pairing of James Westmoreland and Jon Kirkham were eighth and ninth with Chris Walker climbing inside the top ten in the final moments.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch Indy, official test:

  1. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 46.098s
  2. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.210s
  3. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +0.278s
  4. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.407s
  5. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.410s
  6. Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) +0.710s
  7. Dan Linfoot (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +0.711s
  8. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +0.771s
  9. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +0.802s
  10. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +0.818s