• British GT-F3 - Brands Hatch
  • DTM - Brands Hatch
  • Festival Italia - Brands Hatch
  • Mini Festival - Brands Hatch
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne goes all out to score Brands Hatch pole

Saturday, July 20 2013

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne threw down the gauntlet to his MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship title rivals by claiming pole position at his home round of Brands Hatch after pushing ahead of Alex Lowes in the closing stages of Datatag Extreme qualifying.

Alex Lowes and Josh Brookes pushed Byrne hard for the top spot, but in the final minutes it was the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki that claimed his third pole position of the season as he aims for victory at his home circuit. Ryuichi Kiyonari made it two Samsung Hondas on the front row of the grid as he edged out James Ellison on the Milwaukee Yamaha in the closing stages.

Byrne said: "I love winning at Brands Hatch as much as anywhere else and to get pole position here is good for the races tomorrow as I am sure we will have a wonderful crowd and some great racing between us. I need to score two good results tomorrow and if that is two wins to take me to 50 then that will be fantastic. We have worked hard so far and we are all running a very similar pace at the front so fingers crossed we have some good battles tomorrow."

James Westmoreland lines up for race one on row two of the grid on the leading Buildbase BMW along with Chris Walker on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki and PJ Jacobsen, who put in a strong performance despite missing the morning session with a technical problem. Dan Linfoot and Michael Rutter completed the top ten for the Lloyds British GBmoto Honda and Bathams Honda teams respectively.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch GP, Datatag Extreme Qualifying:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 1m:25.672s
  2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.123s
  3. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.169s
  4. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +0.284s
  5. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.327s
  6. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +0.370s
  7. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +0.997s
  8. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +1.012s
  9. Dan Linfoot (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +1.052s
  10. Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda) +1.622s