• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
Brookes snatches Assen race two win from Shakey on final corner

Sunday, September 23 2012

The second MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race of the day went down to the wire as Josh Brookes and Shane 'Shakey' Byrne battled until the final corner on the last lap with the Australian Tyco Suzuki rider snatching it on the drag to the line.

Race one winner Byrne had a flying start off the line to lead Michael Laverty and Noriyuki Haga on the opening lap but Laverty fired the Samsung Honda ahead on the fourth as Brookes moved up to third. A lap later and Byrne charged back into the lead with a move on the inside at turn one, whilst Alex Lowes had also moved up the order after a steady start to lie fourth before making a move on Brookes.

Laverty subsequently started dropping down the order and later finished the race seventh however at the front Byrne, Brookes and Lowes were scrapping for the podium positions. Tommy Hill had meanwhile moved up to third but later dropped back to fourth as Lowes regained the position with a determined move.

At the front Brookes took the lead on the penultimate lap but Byrne regained the lead with a hard move on the brakes into turn one. Brookes shadowed him throughout the final lap and looked set to make a pass, but the double champion defended his position hard. The fight for the win went down to the final corner when Brookes made his move before taking the inside line around a backmarker as Byrne went for the outside that gave the Tyco Suzuki rider the slight edge across the line and the standings lead.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Assen, race two result:

  1. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.246s
  3. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +3.018s
  4. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +3.346s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +9.074s
  6. Noriyuki Haga (Swan Yamaha) +9.140s
  7. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +9.245s
  8. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +17.311s
  9. Robbin Harms (Doodson Motorsport Honda) +17.633s
  10. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +18.891s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Assen:

  1. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 570
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 568
  3. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 548
  4. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) 534
  5. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) 532
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) 521