• Vintage Motorsport Festival - Brands Hatch
  • Ford Power Live - Brands Hatch
  • Caterham CDX Drift Experience
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Jenkins takes Division 1 Truck race at Brands Hatch

Sunday, April 22 2012

David Jenkins continued his defence of the Delphi British Truck Racing Championship title with victory in the opening Division 1 race at Brands Hatch today (Sunday). However he had to overcome a tough challenge from poleman Matt Summerfield, who lost the lead after a sideways moment at Druids and spent the rest of the race on the winner's tail.

The Division 1 race was highly-anticipated with rivals Summerfield and Jenkins lining up on row one. Bizarrely, Summerfield endured a sideways moment on the way to the grid, perhaps giving Jenkins the psychological upper hand.

Summerfield assumed the lead from Jenkins as Thomas maintained third place. In the early laps the leading pair started to build a gap to the chasing pack, with the other drivers keeping close company with each other.

In the pack, Cees Zandbergen was struggling to keep Ben Horne and Luke Taylor behind early on, getting sideways at Graham Hill at one point. However it was Horne that eventually lost out, after a failed defence from Luke Taylor dropped him back down the field.

Meanwhile, Summerfield went very wide at Druids and Jenkins stole the place, not without a robust defence from the erstwhile leader. The rest of the race was about a close battle between the two but whilst Summerfield tried very hard, he was unable to wrest the position and completed the distance in second place.

The battle for the final podium place was just as tense, with Heinz-Werner Lenz working overtime to deny Thomas the place after he had passed him earlier on. They finished some way ahead of Richard Collett, whilst Zandbergen kept Taylor at bay, with Horne trailing home in eighth place.

Steven Powell's crew worked hard to get his new mount onto the back of the grid but he was very slow on the pace truck lap, and in the race itself, pulling off after just a couple of laps.

The next Truck race, which determines the final order for the final, takes place at 14:55.

Delphi British Truck Racing Championship Division 1 Race

1. David Jenkins, 8 Laps
2. Matt Summerfield, +0.431s
3. Heinz-Werner Lenz, +5.130s
4. Steve Thomas, +5.348s
5. Richard Collett, +11.473s
6. Cees Zandbergen, +19.637s
7. Luke Taylor, +20.254s
8. Ben Horne, +44.464s
9. Steven Powell, +6 Laps

Tickets for the Delphi British Truck Racing Championship at Brands Hatch on 21-22 April can be purchased on the gate from £21, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.