• Vintage Motorsport Festival - Brands Hatch
  • Ford Power Live - Brands Hatch
  • Caterham CDX Drift Experience
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Summerfield takes Truck Grand Final win at Brands Hatch

Sunday, April 22 2012

Matt Summerfield has won the Delphi British Truck Racing Championship Grand Final, after reigning champion David Jenkins spun out of contention on lap one. Heinz-Werner Lenz finished as runner-up, from Steve Collett, with Jenkins a superb fifth after a storming recovery drive.

A mid-afternoon shower drenched the track, however by the time the trucks made their way around the circuit on the parade lap, the track was almost dry. Summerfield and Jenkins locked out the front row of the grid once more, with David Smith and Brian Burt leading Division 2 on row five, whilst Oly Janes sat at the very back, eager to make amends for his mistake in the Last Chance race.

A dreadful start for Jenkins left him third out of Paddock and out of the running by Druids, repeating his Last Chance race spin. There was to be no red flag this time, and Summerfield led Lenz and Collett, as Jenkins crossed the line in 15th place.

Lenz set upon Summerfield and Collett kept close to the leaders, whilst in Division 2, Smith converted class pole to the lead over Burt. Meanwhile Jenkins was carving his way through the Division 2 trucks, taking two places on each of the first two laps after his spin, then three on the next.

A moment for Collett at Graham Hill lost him time on the leaders but Summerfield was easing away from Lenz. As they worked their way past the backmarkers at mid-distance, Summerfield coped well, whilst at this point Jenkins had cleared all of the Division 2 trucks and was ready to take places from his own class.

However whilst Jenkins was fighting for sixth place, Summerfield was baulked by the backmakers and the gap was closing on the penultimate lap. After an agonisingly long wait until the main straight, he made up for lost time by taking the flag with the fastest lap of the race.

Behind Lenz, Collett kept the final podium place, whilst Ben Horne just held off a superb recovery drive from Jenkins. Cees Zandbergen and Luke Taylor completed the Division 1 runners, with Smith nine seconds ahead of another great recovery drive from Janes. Burt completed the top ten.

Delphi British Truck Racing Championship Grand Final

1. Matt Summerfield, Div 1, 12 Laps
2. Heinz-Werner Lenz, Div 1, +5.487s
3. Richard Collett, Div 1, +24.458s
4. Ben Horne, Div 1, +32.878s
5. David Jenkins, Div 1, +33.931s
6. Cees Zandbergen, Div 1, +34.903s
7. Luke Taylor, Div 1, +40.337s
8. David Smith, Div 2, +58.501s
9. Oly Janes, Div 2 +1:07.924s
10. Brian Burt, Div 2, +1:08.022s

The next major event at Brands Hatch is the DTM on 18-20 May. Tickets are available from £29, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.