• American SpeedFest VI - Brands Hatch
  • Deutsche Fest - Brands Hatch
  • Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Matt Summerfield secures Grand Final victory

Sunday, October 30 2011

Matt Summerfield has clinched a dominant victory in the Halloween Truck Racing Grand Final at Brands Hatch to go with his win from earlier today.

Summerfield started from pole position and was unchallenged throughout the race, leading by 1.5 seconds at the end of the first lap, and eventually securing the win by 5.4 seconds from 2011 Champion David Jenkins.

At the start Summerfield blasted away while Lene Heinz-Werner made a superb start from the fifth place on the grid to move into third place.

Second placed starter Cees Zandbergen from Class B was unable to keep his position and fell to fifth by the end of the first lap. Zandbergen was involved in a  tussle for that position with Terry Gibbon and Steve Thomas for the duration of the race before being forced into retirement with just a lap remaining.

Summerfield set about extending his lead, and he was three seconds ahead by the end of lap five, further extending the lead to over five seconds at the chequered flag. Jenkins pulled out a small margin over Heinz-Werner to hold on to second, while the German just held off a charge from Richard Collett to secure the final podium spot.

Collett claimed fourth, while Terry Gibbon moved up two spots on the grid to fifth. Steve Thomas improved by three places to take sixth, with Graham Powell, Andrew Lovenberry, Luke Taylor and David Smith completing the top 10.

Lovenberry claimed Class B honours from David Smith and Steven Powell.

Delphi British Truck Racing Championship Grand Final result:

1. Matt Summerfield, MAN ERF ECT 410, Class A, 10 Laps
2. David Jenkins, MAN TGA, Class A, +5.429s
3. Lene Heinz-Werner, Mercedes Benz, Class A +12.260s
4. Richard Collett, MAN TGA, Class A, +19.419s
5. Terry Gibbon, MAN TGA, Class A, +34.068s
6. Steve Thomas, MAN TGX, Class A, +35.213s
7. Graham Powell, ERF ECX, Class A +51.280s
8. Andrew Lovenberry, Sisu SL250, Class B, +51.812s
9. Luke Taylor, Renault Premium, Class A, +52.678s
10. David Smith, Foden Alpha, Class B, +55.712s

The next event at Brands Hatch is the Lotus 1000km next Saturday (5 November). Tickets are available for £10 for adults with free admission for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click this link.