• SpeedFest 7 - Brands Hatch
  • Tunerfest South - Brands Hatch
  • Caterham CDX Drift Experience
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
Andrew Jordan steers Pirtek Vectra to final round glory

Sunday, October 10 2010

The Pirtek Racing Vauxhall Vectra of Andrew Jordan capitalised on his reverse grid pole position to take the spoils in the final outing of the 2010 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Brands Hatch today (Sunday).

Jordan fended off a race-long assault from Airwaves BMW's Steven Kane to take the chequered flag and secure his second victory this season, much to the delight of the Pirtek Racing team.

Team Aon's Tom Chilton survived intense pressure from a train of cars including second Airwaves BMW driver Mat Jackson, the Sunshine.co.uk Honda Integra of Paul O'Neill and WSR BMW's Rob Collard to clinch the final podium position - although less than a second separated third to eighth place. The points haul was enough to secure the Independent drivers' title for the Ford Focus driver and the Independent teams' crown for Team Aon.

The Triple Eight Vectra of James Nash and Honda's Gordon Shedden completed the gaggle of top eight cars, although Shedden's result was not sufficient to leapfrog team-mate Matt Neal in the overall championship. Despite retiring from the season finale with mechanical problems, Neal clinched the vice champion position behind Jason Plato, whilst Shedden took third in the standings. Honda clinched the overall teams' title.

Newly-crowned champion Silverline Chevrolet's Jason Plato finished a quietly consistent ninth, with Triple Eight's Sam Tordoff scooping a points finish on his debut BTCC weekend in tenth position.

The final outing of 2010 was interrupted by two safety car periods, the first when Lea Wood's Honda Integra experienced an engine failure at Surtees and deposited oil on the track. The second safety car was deployed when Airwaves BMW's Ben Collins went off into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, Brands Hatch, race three:
1. Andrew Jordan (Pirtek Racing Vauxhall Vectra), 27 laps
2. Steven Kane (Airwaves BMW), +0.949s
3. Tom Chilton (Team Aon Ford Focus), +1.342s
4. Mat Jackson (Airwaves BMW), +1.605s
5. Paul O'Neill (Sunshine.co.uk Honda Integra), +1.973s
6. Rob Collard (WSR BMW), +2.330s
7. James Nash (Triple Eight Vauxhall Vectra), +3.124s
8. Gordon Shedden (Honda Racing Civic), +3.470s
9. Jason Plato (Silverline Chevrolet Cruze), +4.146s
10. Sam Tordoff (Triple Eight Vauxhall Vectra), +5.961s

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship final standings:
1. Jason Plato (Silverline Chevrolet), 206 points
2. Matt Neal (Honda Racing Civic), 229
3. Gordon Shedden (Honda Racing Civic), 218
4. Tom Onslow-Cole (Team Aon Ford Focus), 200
5. Tom Chilton (Team Aon Ford Focus), 191
6. Steven Kane (Airwaves BMW), 169
7. Mat Jackson (Airwaves BMW), 155
8. Robert Collard (WSR BMW), 144
9. Paul O'Neill (Sunshine.co.uk Honda Integra), 136
10. Andrew Jordan (Pirtek Racing Vauxhall Vectra), 101

The next major event at Brands Hatch is the Halloween Truck Spectacular on 30/31 October. Tickets are now on sale from £17 for adults, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0870 950 9000 or click on the link below.