• Festival Italia - Brands Hatch
  • Masters Historic Festival - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
  • Brands Hatch Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Brands Hatch
Stuart Oliver wins last chance shooutout

Sunday, April 18 2010

Stuart Oliver followed his Class A victory with a race win in the last chance outing from the Delphi British Truck Racing Championship at Brands Hatch today (Sunday).

Oliver led the 10 lap shootout, which is open to both truck classes, from lights to flag eventually crossing the line with a commanding 15 second lead.

However, there was a titanic scrap behind the nine-time British champion for the final podium places, as David Jenkins and Matt Summerfield went nose to tail multiple times during the closing stages of the race. Summerfield was able to edge alongside Jenkins on several occasions but ultimately had to settle for third position behind his MAN TGA rival.

Graham Powell was the quickest of the Class B competitors, as the race one winner finished fourth overall after a quietly consistent outing. Powell was pressured hard in the early part of the race by the Sisu of Andy Lovenberry, but a spectacular trip through the gravel trap meant Lovenberry dropped down to the back of the field although he was able to recover to seventh by the chequered flag.

Powell was followed by Ben Horne, who began closing on the Aylesford racer in the final stages of the race, with Class A runner Adam Atkins in sixth. Graham's brother Steven Powell fended off strong competition from a charging Brian Burt in eighth place.

Class A race one pole-sitter Chris Levett once again retired with mechanical problems, whilst Oly Janes suffered technical issues with excessive smoke. Craig Evans, who went off at Druids during his first outing of the day, also failed to finish after his truck broke down on the final lap just shy of the finishing line.

Delphi British Truck Racing Championship, Brands Hatch, last chance race result:
1. Stuart Oliver (MAN TGS), 10 laps
2. David Jenkins (MAN TGA), +15.044s
3. Matt Summerfield (MAN ERF), +15.942s
4. Graham Powell (ERF ECX), +45.248s
5. Ben Horne (Volvo White), +48.690s
6. Adam Atkins (Volvo White), +50.510
7. Andy Lovenberry (Sisu SL250), +53.806s
8. Steven Powell (Ford Cargo), 57.870s

The Truck Superprix returns to Brands Hatch on 30/31 October for the season finale of the British Truck Racing Championship. Tickets are now on sale from £17 for adults, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0870 950 9000 or click on the link below.